# COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

## REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 1, 2015 - 6:00 PM 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM

#### District Mission Statement

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, a learning community rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to educate all students by providing rigorous educational opportunities to become responsible, productive, life-long learners in a global society.

# 1. <u>ADVISEMENT</u>

This meeting was called for the reorganization of the School Board under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. Public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. By notice of the Board Secretary, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes.

#### 2. ROLL CALL

#### **Board of School Directors**

Dean A. Snyder - present
Stuart C. N. Deets - present
Diane M. Brownfield - absent
James Hills - present
Laurie C. Knecht - absent
Michele S. Maffei - absent
Deborah L. Thompson - present
Ann M. Wuertz - present
Gregory D. Wynn - absent

#### **Solicitor**

Michael I. Levin, Esquire – not present

#### Administration

Dr. Cathy Taschner, Superintendent of Schools - present
Dr. Kimberly R. Donahue, Assistant to the Superintendent of Curriculum & Learning - present
Ronald G. Kabonick, Director of Business Administration & School Board Secretary - present
John Reid, Director of Pupil Services, Data & Assessment - absent
Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary Education & Special Education (K-5) - absent

#### 3. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND FLAG SALUTE

#### 4. **SCHOOL BOARD REORGANIZATION** (Board Secretary)

## Reading of the List of Legally Elected and/or Qualified School Directors:

**<u>Region I</u>** (Coatesville, Valley) Bashera Grove

James Hills

Deborah L. Thompson

**Region II** (West Brandywine, Caln) Stuart C. N. Deets

Dean A. Snyder Ann M. Wuertz

**Region III** (East Fallowfield, Modena, Brenda L. Geist

Sadsbury, West Caln, Laurie C. Knecht South Coatesville) Thomas Siedenbuehl

## 5. <u>SWEARING IN OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS</u>

District Magistrate, Judge Gregory Hines, swore in the new and re-elected Board members.

#### 6. REVIEW OF VOTING PROCEDURES

Board President, Dean Snyder, read aloud the voting procedures.

#### 7. <u>ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT</u>

Stuart Deets moved to nominate Deborah Thompson for Temporary President. This motion was seconded by Ann Wuertz.

On an 8-0-0 roll call vote, Deborah Thompson was elected Temporary President. Ms. Thompson took the chair.

#### 8. <u>ELECTION OF OFFICERS</u>

#### A. PRESIDENT

Temporary President Thompson asked for nominations for President for the year 2016.

#### **Nominations for President:**

Ann Wuertz moved to nominate Dean Snyder for President. This motion was seconded by Stuart Deets.

On an 8-0-0 roll call vote, Dean Snyder was elected President for the year 2016. President Snyder took the chair.

#### B. VICE PRESIDENT

President Snyder asked for nominations for Vice President for the year 2016.

#### **Nominations for Vice President:**

- Brenda Geist nominated Tom Siedenbuehl for Vice President.
- James Hills nominated Ann Wuertz for Vice President.
- Ann Wuertz nominated Stuart Deets for Vice President.

President Dean Snyder moved that nominations for Vice President be closed.

On a roll call vote, Ann Wuertz was elected Vice President for 2016:

- Ann Wuertz five (5) votes
- Tom Siedenbuehl two (2) votes
- Stuart Deets one (1) vote

#### 9. BOARD MEMBERS REMARKS

Deborah Thompson welcomed the newly elected School Board Directors.

#### 10. PUBLIC BOARD MEETING DATES

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approve the Public School Board Meetings for 2016 be advertised as outlined below.

In accordance with School Board Policy #006, adopted September 27, 2001 and revised on May 23, 2002 and October 19, 2004, all Board Members and the District Superintendent shall be advised of the dates and times for the scheduled public Committee and Board meetings.

#### SCHOOL BOARD MEETINGS

#### **COMMITTEES & SPECIAL MEETINGS**

January 26, 2016	January 12, 2016
February 23, 2016	February 9, 2016
March 22, 2016	March 8, 2016
April 26, 2016	April 12, 2016
May 24, 2016	May 10, 2016
June 28, 2016	June 14, 2016
July 26, 2016	July 12, 2016
August 23, 2016	August 9, 2016
September 27, 2016	September 13, 2016
October 25, 2016	October 11, 2016
November 22, 2016	November 8, 2016
December 6, 2016	No committee meetings in December

All School Board meetings will begin at 7:00 p.m. in the 9/10 Center Auditorium at 1425 E. Lincoln Hwy, Coatesville, PA

All committees will meet on a rotational basis beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the 9/10 Center Auditorium, special meeting to follow.

Motion: Dean Snyder Second: Tom Siedenbuehl Vote: 8-0-0

#### 11. COMMITTEES

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approve the committees as follows:

Education CommitteeFinance and Personnel Committee Operations CommitteePolicy Committee

Motion: Dean Snyder Second: Ann Wuertz Vote: 8-0-0

## 12. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board has requested all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

None

## 13. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 6:38 p.m. on a motion by Stuart Deets and seconded by James Hills.

Respectfully submitted, Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Ronald G. Kabonick, School Board Secretary

Anyone wishing to review the minutes verbatim should contact the School Board Secretary to request a copy of the digital/audio file.